Lieutenancy area

This map shows the lieutenancy county boundaries of Aberdeenshire, Banffshire and Kincardineshire. Each county has its own Lord-Lieutenant. Aberdeenshire is represented by Alexander Philip Manson, Banffshire by Mr Andrew Simpson and Kincardineshire by Mr Alastair Macphie. Aberdeen City is represented by The Lord Provost Mr Barney Crockett.

Remembrance Sunday in Aberdeenshire

In the United Kingdom, Remembrance Sunday is the day “to commemorate the contribution of British and Commonwealth military and civilian servicemen and women in the two World Wars and later conflicts”. It is held on the second Sunday in November - the Sunday nearest to 11 November, Armistice Day, the anniversary of the end of hostilities in the First World War at 11am in 1918.

Across Aberdeenshire, Remembrance Sunday is marked by ceremonies at local war memorials in towns and villages, attended by civic dignitaries, ex-servicemen and -women (many are members of the Royal British Legion and other veterans’ organisations), members of local armed forces regular and reserve units (Royal Navy and Royal Naval Reserve, Royal Marines and Royal Marines Reserve, Army and Territorial Army, Royal Air Force and Royal Auxiliary Air Force), military cadet forces (Sea Cadet Corps, Army Cadet Force and Air Training Corps as well as the Combined Cadet Force) and youth organisations (eg Scouts, Boys’ Brigade, Girls’ Brigade and Guides). Wreaths of remembrance poppies are laid on the memorials and two minutes’ silence is held at 11am.

The Lord-Lieutenant, the Vice Lieutenant and all the Deputy Lieutenants are invited by the Royal British Legion to visit their respective local services as representatives of the Monarchy. They lead the procession and should lay their wreaths first on behalf of The Queen.

The recommended order of wreath-laying is as follows:

  1. The Sovereign’s representative: The Lord-Lieutenant, Vice Lieutenant, Deputy Lieutenant
  2. Civic VIPs
  3. Representatives of regular forces.
  4. Representatives of territorial and reserve forces.
  5. Representatives of ex-Service associations, including the Legion & Women‘s section.
  6. Representatives of uniformed public services (Police, Fire Brigade, Ambulance services).
  7. Representatives of uniformed voluntary services (St John's Ambulance, Red Cross, etc).
  8. Representatives of cadet forces.
  9. Representatives of youth organisations.
  10. Members of the public.